STATE OF RHODE ISLAND PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION

IN RE: THE NARRAGANSETT ELECTRIC CO. d/b/a RHODE ISLAND ENERGY DISTRIBUTION ADJUSTMENT CHARGE & GAS COST RECOVERY CHARGE - DOCKET NO. 23-23-NG

NOTICE OF PUBLIC HEARING

Pursuant to the provisions of Rhode Island Gen. Laws §39-3-11, as amended, the Public Utilities Commission (PUC) will conduct a hearing on **Wednesday, October 18, 2023 at 9:30 A.M.** at the PUC's office, Hearing Room A, 89 Jefferson Boulevard, Warwick, Rhode Island. The hearing may continue thereafter from time to time as required. The hearing will be streamed live at https://video.ibm.com/channel/WqQyXw296dg.

At this hearing, the PUC will examine the propriety of filings submitted by Rhode Island Energy to implement rate change to the Company's Distribution Adjustment Charge (DAC) and Gas Cost Recovery Charge (GCR). Rhode Island Energy proposes the rate change to take effect November 1, 2023.

The DAC is designed to provide for the recovery and reconciliation of the costs of identifiable special programs. The DAC includes an annual System Pressure factor; an Environmental Response Cost factor; a Pension Adjustment Factor; an Arrearage Management Adjustment Factor; a Revenue Decoupling Adjustment factor; rate class specific Infrastructure, Safety, and Reliability factors; a Service Quality Performance factor; two reconciliation factors for the previous year; an Earnings Sharing Mechanism factor; a Low Income Discount Recovery Factor and a Storm Net Revenue factor. For the average Residential Heating customer using 845 therms annually, this represents an annual decrease of \$33.35 as compared to the DAC rate currently in effect.

The GCR filing provides the customer class-specific factors necessary for the Company to recover projected gas costs for the period November 1, 2022 through October 31, 2023. For the average Residential Heating customer using 845 therms annually, this represents an annual bill decrease of \$26.05 as compared to the GCR rate currently in effect.

The combined bill impact from the proposed DAC and GCR charges to an average residential heating customer using 845 therms annually represents a decrease of \$61.24 or 3.5% from \$1,753.55 to \$1,692.31. These values include gross receipts tax of 3%. The impact on other customer rate classes will vary depending upon the rate class and usage.

The filings may be examined at the PUC's office. The filings can also be accessed at <u>https://ripuc.ri.gov/Docket-23-23-NG</u>. Reference is made to Chapters 39-1, 39-3 and 42-35 of the Rhode Island General Laws.

The Public Utilities Commission is accessible to the handicapped. Individuals requesting interpreter services for the hearing impaired must notify the Clerk's office at 780-2107 seventy-two hours in advance of hearing date.

Luly E. Massaro, Commission Clerk October 10, 2023