$150 April bill for typical residential customer (500 kWh/mo)
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Rhode Island Energy's residential Last Resort Service (LRS) rate
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GLOSSARY FOR RATES CHARTS

Distribution charges = Distribution charges collect the cost to deliver energy from the regional transmission system to customers” properties.
Residential customers have two distribution charges on their bill: a fixed monthly charge and a charge based on monthly kWh usage. These charges are
designed to collect revenue for Rhode Island Energy’s capital (e.g., infrastructure) investment costs plus a reasonable return on investment, reasonable
expenses associated with operating and maintaining the distribution system, and adjustments for over- or under-collections from previous periods. In
some periods the charges may include reallocation of costs between some rate classes and costs for certain programs approved by the PUC.

Energy Efficiency program charge = This charge 1s designed to collect the costs to implement Rhode Island Energy’s Energy Efficiency program,
approved annually by the PUC. Annual costs include: rebates and other incentives for participating customers; expenses Rhode Island Energy pays to
energy efficiency contractors and program providers; reasonable expenses Rhode Island Energy incurs to implement, administer, market, and verify the
program; costs to fund the Office of Energy Resources and the Rhode Island Energy Efficiency and Resource Management Council; $5 million to fund
the Rhode Island Infrastructure Bank; and a financial incentive paid to Rhode Island Energy based on its performance in implementing the approved
program. Added to the program charge is a Renewable Energy Charge of $0.0003/kWh, as required by law. Customers are billed based on their monthly
kWh usage.

LIHEAP enhancement charge = This fixed monthly charge provides funding for the Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program (LIHEAP)
Enhancement Plan, designed to assist low-income electric and natural gas households with their home energy and heating needs. By law, this charge
cannot exceed $10 per year per customer and is set to collect, along with collections from gas customers, between $6.5 and $7.5 nuillion annually.

Renewable Energy programs = this cost category encompasses the customer charges related to the procurement and sale of renewable energy products:

* Net Metering = Rhode Island Energy customers can enroll in net metering and receive bill credits for energy generated by eligible facilities,
such as rooftop solar and remote net metering facilities. The value of these credits changes with Rhode Island Energy’s Standard Offer/Last
Resort Service, Transmission, Distribution, and Transition charges. The Net Metering factor, which is included in the Renewable Energy
Distribution Charge on customers’ bills, collects the difference between the total cost of net metering credits paid to participating customers and
the revenue that National Grid receives from selling participants’ energy into the regional wholesale market, with adjustments for over- or under-
collections from previous periods. Rhode Island Energy does not collect a profit through the net metering charge. Customers are billed based on
their monthly kWh usage.

¢ Long-Term Contracting (LTC) Standard for Renewable Energy and Distributed Generation (DG) Standard Contracts = Rhode Island
Energy 1s required by law to have entered into long-term contracts with eligible renewable energy facilities. The LTC-DG factor, which 1s
included in the Renewable Energy Distribution Charge on customers’ bills, collects the difference between the cost of the contracts paid to the
facility owners for those projects that are currently operational and the revenue Rhode Island Energy receives from selling the energy,
Renewable Energy Certificates, and (in some instances) capacity output of the facilities into the regional wholesale market, with adjustments for
over- or under-collections from previous periods. The cost of the contracts includes a statutory markup of 2.75% remuneration paid to Rhode
Island Energy. Customers are billed based on their monthly kWh usage.

+ Renewable Energy Growth (REG) program = Participants in the REG Program receive a fixed price for the output of their eligible renewable
facilities. The REG Charge is a fixed monthly charge that collects the total cost of the REG program minus the revenue earned from the sale of



Renewable Energy Certificates, and (in some instances) the energy and capacity output of the participating facilities. The total program costs
include the cost of the fixed price payments to participants, a statutory markup of 1.75% remuneration paid to Rhode Island Energy, revenue for
Rhode Island Energy’s eligible program expenses and capital investment costs, and adjustments for over- or under-collections from previous
periods. Customers are billed a fixed mionthly charge.

¢+ Renewable Energy Standard (RES) = Retail electricity suppliers (excluding Block Island Utility District and Pascoag Utility District) are
required to supply a defined percentage of their annual retail electricity sales from renewable energy resources that increases each year until it
reaches 38.5% 1n 2035. Suppliers comply by annually procuring the appropriate number of Renewable Energy Certificates from the regional
market or by making Alternative Compliance Payments to the RI Commerce Corporation. Rhode Island Energy’s RES factor collects its costs to
procure Renewable Energy Certificates or to make Alternative Compliance Payments, and adjustments for over- or under-collections from
previous periods. For customers who receive their energy supply from Rhode Island Energy, the RES factor is embedded in their supply rate.
Only customers who take their supply from Rhode Island Energy pay Rhode Island Energy’s RES factor. Other energy suppliers embed a
different, but likely similar, RES cost in their own supply rates. Rhode Island Energy’s supply customers are billed based on their monthly kWh
usage. Note that for design purposes, Chart 2 depicts Rhode Island Energy’s RES factor separate from its supply charges.

Supply charges (excluding RES) = Supply charges represent the cost of supplying energy to customers, excluding charges for delivery, programs, and
taxes. Customers may choose to take supply from an unregulated retail electricity supplier or from Rhode Island Energy. The costs shown in Charts 1
and 2 represent the charges for Standard Offer/Last Resort Service, Rhode Island Energy’s supply product. Standard Offer/Last Resort Service supply
rates include energy costs, administrative costs, and adjustments for over- or under-collections from previous periods. Unregulated suppliers set different,
but likely simular, supply charges. Rhode Island Energy 1s not eligible to profit on the cost to serve Standard Offer/Last Resort Service supply. Rhode
Island Energy’s Standard Offer/Last Resort Service supply customers are billed based on their monthly kWh usage. For design purposes, Chart 2 depicts
the RES factor separate from Rhode Island Energy’s supply charges.

Transition charge = Each year, Rhode Island Energy 1s billed for contract termination charges by New England Power (NEP), a separate entity that is
not regulated by the PUC. The confract termination charges reflect any incremental costs associated with the termunation of power generation contracts
that resulted from the Rhode Island Utility Restructuring Act of 1996, and can be positive (meaning Rhode Island Energy owes money to NEP) or
negative (meaning Rhode Island Energy 1s credited money by NEP). The transition charge 1s designed to collect the cost of the contract termination
charges or to refund the contract termination charge credits, with adjustments for over- or under-collection from previous periods, and are passed through
to customers without markup. Customers are billed based on their monthly kWh usage.

Transmission charges = Transmission charges collect the cost to deliver energy from the power generators over the regional and local transmission
system to Rhode Island Energy’s local distribution system. The charge 15 designed to collect the costs that Rhode Island Energy pays for transmission
service to regional and local transmission companies with adjustments for over- or under-collection from previous periods, and are passed through to
customers without markup. Customers are billed based on their monthly kWh usage.

For more information on the different components of Rhode Island Energy’s electric bill, please visit the How to Read Your Electric Bill webpage at:
https://'www _rienergy.comyRI-Home/Help-Read-Your-Bill/Basic-Bill-Electric
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