Meet the Commissioners

Chairman Ronald T. Gerwatowski

Ron Gerwatowski

Ron Gerwatowski was appointed to the Public Utilities Commission as Chairman in June 2020 by Governor Gina Raimondo. His term runs through February 2026. Chairman Gerwatowski has worked in the utility and energy industry for over thirty years. Prior to his appointment, he served as a Senior Regulatory Advisor to the Rhode Island Division of Public Utilities and Carriers. For the past four years, he has been a guest lecturer and instructor in the Energy Fellows Program at the University of Rhode Island.

He previously served as Assistant Secretary of Energy in Massachusetts in 2015, before moving to Rhode Island. Prior to that time, he served in several different legal and utility executive capacities in various jurisdictions, including Rhode Island, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and New York.

Chairman Gerwatowski graduated magna cum laude from Boston College Law School in 1985, where he served as Managing Editor of the Boston College Law Review. He has been a member of the Rhode Island Bar Association since 1991.

Commissioner Abigail Anthony

Abigail Anthony

Abigail Anthony was appointed by Governor Gina Raimondo to the Rhode Island Public Utilities Commission in 2017. Commissioner Anthony is currently the Chair of the Commission on Energy Resources and the Environment of the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners and the President of the Board of the New England Utility Cybersecurity Integration Collaborative. Previously, Commissioner Anthony was the director of Acadia Center’s Grid Modernization and Utility Reform Initiative, and the organization’s Rhode Island director. During her time as director of Acadia Center, she was appointed by Governors Carcieri and Chafee to the Rhode Island Energy Efficiency and Resource Management Council, where she served from 2010 to 2017 overseeing the implementation of the state’s energy efficiency programs and policies.

Commissioner Anthony holds a PhD in Environmental and Natural Resource Economics from the University of Rhode Island. She received her MA and BA in economics from the University of Montana.

Abigail is a lifelong resident of Jamestown.


Commissioner John C. Revens, Jr.

John Revens

John C. Revens Jr. was appointed to the Commission by Governor Gina Raimondo in April 2021.

Commissioner Revens was elected to the Rhode Island House of Representatives in 1968. After serving three terms in the House, he was elected to the Rhode Island Senate in 1974, where he served for 16 terms. Mr. Revens was chosen by his colleagues as Senate Majority Whip, Senate Judiciary Chairman, Senate Majority Leader, and Senate President Pro Tem.

Mr. Revens chaired the Special Legislative Commission which lead to the establishment of Brown University Medical School, and was Chair of the New England Board of Higher Education. Senator Revens was the principal sponsor of legislation to establish Rhode Island Department of Children and Families; as well as principal sponsor of the Constitutional Amendment which reduced the size of the General Assembly, abolished legislative pensions, and increased legislative compensation.

Mr. Revens was in the first graduating class at the Community College of Rhode Island, holds a Bachelor's Degree from Providence College, and a J.D. from Suffolk University School of Law.